Books and more books

My parents surprised us this year, with a big Christmas gift. Actually the request for a gift list for a substansial amount of money. I had the hardest time thinking of what I wanted. Until it hit me… Books of course!
So I compiled a list of books. The last two books written by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Somehow I never have read those! And a couple of books by LM Montgomery. I loved her Anne of Green Gables series, and have often seen that she’s written a lot more.
I’m looking forward to my package of books, ones I’m sure to love.

Today I was at “home” helping my mom out in the kitchen. She and my dad are celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary tonight. I wandered into my dads office at one point, where he had safely sequestered himself. Since their move back they have reclaimed all their boxes and packages from all over the place and have really made this little house theirs. That includes books, lots of them! It’s the books that make me feel at home, like old friends I meet again. My dad was rummaging through stuff and came up with the list of my old boyfriends. The one he used to commemorate them on my wedding day. I had to smile, listening to the names, and realizing I’m back in touch with a number of them through facebook. And realizing that I can’t remember the last names of a number of others. And realizing that I’ve known my husband now for longer than I havn’t known him.
Now that truly makes me feel old.

1 Comment

Filed under whatever

One response to “Books and more books

  1. I loved the Anne of Green Gables books and the series written by Laura Ingalls Wilder when I was a young teen, and now you have me curious about these other books written by L.M. Montgomery. I hope your Christmas wishes come true & happy anniversary to your mom & dad 🙂

Leave a Reply

