7 Quick Takes

7_quick_takes

1.

Czech Republic

The car is packed, the house is kind of clean. My husband just told me I smell sweaty, fruit of a hard days work. I still have to take a shower and finish cleaning the bathroom. I’m tired and I sincerely hope that I’ll get a couple hours of sleep before we head off on vacation! I’m nervous about the trip… wondering if it’ll go ok, if we’ll arrive on time, if I’ll drive ok, and so forth and so on. One great thing to look forward to though. Seeing my daughter again! I long to give her good long hugs and hear all her tales of Hungary.

2.

Books

My friend loaned me this box of books for holiday reading. I’m at a loss which to take with me, and which to leave behind (because my husband would have a fit if I packed all of them, though seriously, I could probably read them all in two weeks). They look so yummy! I feel like a kid in a candy store, not knowing what to get.

april 2009 003

3.

Blogging

Though I’m taking our laptop with me, I’m pretty sure there’s not internet available in the house where we’re going. A long blogging break! I am planning to write daily, and then will post it all in one big go for posterities sake when I get back home.

4.

Reunion

My classmates, RVA ’89, are having a reunion in the States right now. Part of me wishes I was there and is wondering how it’s going. Hopefully pictures will be posted and those of us who aren’t able to attend will get some of the news. At the beginning of the year I had high hopes of going. Now I’m glad I’m off to the Czech Republic, at least it will be a (hopefully) wonderful distraction!

5.

Music

My hubby found this song on Youtube, I thought it was pretty good! Herman will work on translating it to dutch during our vacation. He gets a kick out of doing that. He translated this one a short while ago, and I actually think it’s better than the original english. And believe me, with my love of english, that is really saying something!

6.

Bobsleigh

This is one of the things that Tristan is particularly looking forward to. I think I’ll give it a try myself. I’m not much of one for action packed adventure parks, but a bit of speed is nice to get the adrenaline flowing. I wonder how fast I’ll drive in Germany, where there is no speed limit. I must grab my chance and really go for it!

7.

So long

So long, farewell! I’m off for my shower and some sleep. Leaving the men downstairs watching soccer. Not worried about missing that!

2 Comments

Filed under 7 Quick Takes

2 responses to “7 Quick Takes

  1. one of your colleagues, yes, that one!

    Hi there,
    Hope you enjoy your holidays! Today is the 4th of August and that means that it’s your birthday today! Happy birthday to you (please imagine me singing it, or, even better, don’t!). Hope you relax a lot and that you enjoy yourselves!

  2. Joy-Desta

    hey marit, where are those blogs you wrote during the holidays!! I have read all your blogs in one go, and appreciate them, where are the rest?
    Hugs

Leave a Reply

